Until the entry deadline for the
Student Radio Awards 2014 supported by BBC Radio 1 and Global Radio
Featured Station: Brookes Radio
Brookes Radio

Oxford Brookes University

The student...

Read More

tweet this rss feed
Round Up of The Student Radio Awards 2012
Round Up of The Student Radio Awards 2012

On Thursday, the biggest event in the student radio calendar took place at the indigO2 in London, and you can see the full list of winners here...

Posted By: Emma Bradshaw on 10/11/12
Round Up of The Student Radio Awards 2012: Full Story

The Student Radio Awards took place at the indigO2 last night with over 700 students and people from the radio industry in attendance. Hosted by BBC Radio 1’s Nick Grimshaw and Capital Breakfast’s Dave Berry, and DJs including Greg James and James Barr, it truly was a star-studded event all in aid of celebrating the very best of student radio. Of the fourteen categories of awards, 107 Spark FM from Sunderland scooped four including Best Male and Best Specialist Music. For the third year running, University Radio Nottingham won Best Student Station. Here are the winners in full:

Best Student Radio Station
Gold: URN
Silver: URY
Bronze: 107 Spark FM 

Kevin Greening Award
Beyond Silence: Saving the Sounds of Spring [IC Radio]

Best Female Presenter
Gold: Hattie Pearson [Fuse FM]
Silver: Rachael ‘Coco’ Cole [URY]
Bronze: Claire Chambers [Fly FM]

Best Male Presenter
Gold: Ethan O’Leary [107 Spark FM]
Silver: Tom Watts [Fly FM]
Bronze: Matthew Hemmaty [Shock Radio]

Best Marketing & Branding
Gold: URN
Silver: Fly FM
Bronze: 107 Spark FM

Best Newcomer
Gold: Abbie McCarthy [RaW 1251am]
Silver: Giles Gear [URN]
Bronze: George O’Neill [URN]

Best Entertainment Programming
Gold: Drivetime with Richie Lee [107 Spark FM]
Silver: The Chris Browning Show [Xpress Radio]
Bronze: The Tom Davies Show with Tom Davies [RaW 1251AM]

Best Specialist Music Programming
Gold: Dance Revolution [107 Spark FM]
Silver: Mim Shaikh Presents The Shaikh World Show [LSRfm.com]
Bronze: Coco Electro [URY]

Best Speech Programming
Gold: Hello, I’m Half-Caste [Smoke Radio]
Silver: How I Lost My Faith [RaW 1251am]
Bronze: Beyond Silence: Saving the Sounds of Spring [IC Radio]

Best Journalistic Programming
Gold: The Pulse: The Truth About Taxis [URN]
Silver: The Pulse: Whose Lenton is it? [URN]
Bronze: The Science Show [URN]

Best Technical Achievement
Gold: Bailrigg FM Field Switchboard [Bailrigg FM]
Silver: OpenOB – Low-latency audio over IP for broadcast [Insanity]
Bronze: Clickteesside iPhone App [Click]

Best Student Radio Chart Show
Xpression FM

Best Interview
Gold: My Boy Daniel – Ivan Lehane [107 Spark FM]
Silver: Scott McGerty Interviews the Far East Movement [107 Spark FM]
Bronze: Rita Ora Interview – Mim Shaikh [LSRfm.com]

Best OB/Live event
Gold: Varsity 2012 [RaW 1251AM]
Silver: The Forum Opening [Xpression FM]
Bronze: May Bumps [Cam FM]

Congratulations to all the winners and everyone involved in making the awards such a great night. Photos will be posted very shortly!

For those of you who would like feedback of your entries (regardless of whether or not they were nominated), we shall email it to you in two weeks (no need to email to say whether you'd like this - we will send all of you your feedback).

Finally, in conference news, it was announced the Demon FM in Leicester will hold the next Student Radio Conference on the 2-4th of April, so there's a date to pop into your diaries - keep it clear!

If you would like any more information about the Student Radio Awards and how you can become a member of the association and attend this amazing event, please contact emma.bradshaw@studentradio.org.uk 

Posted By: Emma Bradshaw on 10/11/12
More Popular Stories